Kisses In The Moonlight

20160615_200709.jpgSo, to prove that we did actually go to the (amazing, wonderful, age-defying, magnificent) George Benson concert, here is a pic of Emily and me before the start of the show. And, of course, on every picture hangs many a tale:
  • This, as Maggie so rightly points out, is not a selfie but an ussie because there’s more than one of us in it.
  • If you look carefully, you will see I now own a snood.

This is something I always thought was protective underwear that Hobbits needed for long journeys through inhospitable terrain.

It’s actually something (often furry) that you put around your neck to help hide a treble chin in something called an ussie.

  • There are no pics of the stage because they were so awful that I am embarrassed to post them.
  • Nobody does love songs like George.

For one whole evening, I was twenty-something at varsity and in my first job and breaking hearts and having mine broken, all over again.

So freaking delicious.

  • My daughter has now experienced a real-live, off-the-wall, heart-stopping, oh-my-ancient-memories drum solo in On Broadway.
  • The bemused guy behind us in our pic was immensely gracious when I asked his permission to get up and dance during the show.
  • Explanation for previous point:

There.were.actual.printed.notes.on.every.chair.asking.patrons.ever.so.nicely.not. to.stand.during.the.show.because.of.people.behind.them.

I kid you not.

This was George Benson, people – George Dance Your Heart Out Benson. Jirre.

  • Cultural learning for the night Number 1: White people don’t (not can’t) dance, especially if there are written regulations on their chairs telling them not to.

Ask the nicely-turned-out blonde one on my left who, if she could have, would have crawled onto her husband’s lap to get any further away from me, whenever I got up to jiggle. She literally turned her back on me for the entire show.

I carry the title Volksverraaeier with pride.

(And I used ‘literally’ correctly in the previous sentence.)

  • Cultural learning for the night Number 2: Black people don’t read notes left on their chairs.

 

 

Leave a comment